Bookmark and Share
Hakim: Variationen über Freu dich sehr /Org
Artnr: ED 23510
Kategori: Orgel
Kombination : Orgel/Solo

Pris: 195,00 kr
Lagerstatus: Lagervara

Naji Hakim (*1955)

These variations are based on the choral “Freu dich sehr, o meine Seele”.

Variation I, Maestoso, presents a solemn, canonic statement of the theme enveloped by dense, closely-knit harmonies.

Variation II, Allegro, is clothed in polyphonic lines reminiscent of Bach’s “Orgelbüchlein” chorales.

Variation III, Vivace, is a playful bicinium with the cantus firmus featured in the soprano line, as the bass bounces along in a staccato duet.

Variation IV, Adagio, displays rich chromatic harmonies which form a lush backdrop for the pedal solo.

Variation V, Vivace, features the chorale in detached left hand notes while the right hand and pedal provide a playful accompaniment.

In Variation VI, Andante, the melody vacillates between minor and major keys as syncopated left hand chords and pizzicato bass accompany the cantilena.

In the concluding Variation VII, Presto, the left hand proclaims the theme in block chords as the right hand provides an exuberant garland of sixteenth notes while the pedal provides rhythmic drive with tympanic accents.